Safety inspections discontinued, but required if car registration expired in 2017
(KUTV) - As of Monday, safety inspections are now no longer required in Utah on passenger vehicle registrations, but they are required for vehicles with registrations expiring in 2017.
House Bill 265, sponsored by Rep. Dan McCay, R-Riverton, was signed into law by Gov. Gary Herbert and went into effect January 1, 2018. This law no longer mandates Utahn motorists to get vehicle safety inspections as part of their annual registration renewal. However, emissions inspections are still required.
“This means if a passenger vehicle registration expires in 2017 that would have required a safety inspection at that time, the inspection will still be required to register after that date – even in January,” stated Charlie Roberts, spokesperson of the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles in a press release. “We use registration expiration dates to implement new motor vehicle laws. This is consistent with the implementation of other tax laws.”
Emission inspection fees were increased from between $2.50 to $7.50, depending on the year of the vehicles because emission inspections are required every other year in the Beehive State. An increase in overall registration fees is also levied from the passage of HB 265 depending on certain vehicles.
Revenue from the increased fees is designated for a special “Motor Vehicle Safety Impact” fund that is earmarked for the Utah Highway Patrol to add new troopers and for vehicle safety work.